one word reviews of Movies and TV

Listen Now!

Tuesday, August 16, 2016

Ep. 73: Friday the 13th Part III - Movie Commentary: August 2016

Friday the 13th Part III
1982 | Slasher | 1hr 35min

Welcome to the first ever 3D Podcast! How is a audio only podcast in 3D? We have no idea...

Requested by Bradley Taylor,
Friday the 13th Part III once again follows murderer Jason Voorhees, who as a child drowned off the waters of Camp Crystal Lake. Is there anyone that can put an end to Jason's murderous rampage? 

Friday the 13th Part III is a 1982 American 3D slasher film directed by Steve Miner and the third installment in the Friday the 13th film series. Originally released in 3-D, it is the first film to feature antagonist Jason Voorhees wearing his signature hockey mask, which has become a trademark of both the character and franchise, as well an icon in American cinema and horror films in general. As a direct sequel to Friday the 13th (1980) and Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981), the film follows a group of co-eds on vacation at a house on Crystal Lake, where Jason Voorhees has taken refuge. (IMDB)


Friday, August 5, 2016

CUTTING ROOM FLOOR - From Podcast Ep.72

A clip cut from Podcast Ep. 72 ends up on the CUTTING ROOM FLOOR!

Topic "Marc Summers"

On this August edition of The Simplistic Reviews Podcast, the boys come back from their vacation and catch up with what they missed.  JD Duran from Insession Film joins them for a game of Word Association and a brand new game called Simplistic Submarine.  The entire Insession family also helps the boys with their ode to Jason Bourne.  Yo-Ho-Ho mateys! All that and more on this episode of the Simplistic Reviews Podcast.
 


Thursday, August 4, 2016

The Simplistic Reviews Podcast (Ep. 72) August 2016

FOR MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY


On this August edition of The Simplistic Reviews Podcast, the boys come back from their vacation and catch up with what they missed.  JD Duran from Insession Film joins them for a game of Word Association and a brand new game called Simplistic Submarine.  The entire Insession family also helps the boys with their ode to Jason Bourne.  Yo-Ho-Ho mateys! All that and more on this episode of the Simplistic Reviews Podcast.



NOTES
Dr. Strange Trailer
Wonder Woman Trailer
Justice League Trailer
Blair Witch Trailer
Kong Skull Island Trailer
Rocketeers
Fantastic Beasts Trailer
Hacksaw Ridge Trailer

MUSIC
Let It Happen By Tame Impala
1976 By RJD2
I Dream Of genie Remix 
Chronos By Hi-Finesse

Check us out on FacebookTwitterYouTubeLetterboxd, and Pinterest

Tuesday, August 2, 2016

3 Simplistic Things: July 2016

And we're back....and it's not A Dinosaur Story....The month of July brought us so many wonderful things, and by wonderful I mean a bunch of things that people bitched about on the Internet. So here....we....Go.

Pokemon...DOH!
Here's the key to 2016. As long as you make every polling station in America a Poke-Stop....motherfu*kers might go out and vote!

Ghost Bust This!
Well, the movie that sent feminists and meninists wild was finally released, and after just about a week, no one was talking about it again...go figure...thanks Internet...we'll move onto our next controversy.

Batgirl Gets Down?!
In one of the most unnecessary revisions in DC Comics Animated history...Batgirl has sex with Batman in the animated version of "The Killing Joke." Look, we know Batgirl is a bad-ass, but in a comic where she is victimized, we also need to see her subjugate herself to having to f*ck Batman on a rooftop? Sorry, spoilers, I'm sure those pages were stuck together in Alan Moore's original draft of his book back in 1989.

That's enough ranting...kthnxbye...

Monday, August 1, 2016

Remember

Remember: Solid


1hr 34mins | Drama/Thriller | 2015

In a New York nursing home, the elderly Auschwitz concentration camp survivor Max Rosenbaum has befriended the dementia patient Zev Guttman, whom he recognized from their days at the camp. Max has continually reminded Zev that their families were murdered at the camp by the Blockführer Otto Wallisch, who immigrated to North America under the false name Rudy Kurlander. Max convinces Zev to avenge their families by seeking out and killing Wallisch. IMDB

Christoper Plummer brings his best in a performance that hits your emotions hard. This movie is all about Plummer's performance, the story is good but his performance is what stands out. 


Zev doesn't know where Otto is, so he must travel to locate the real Otto by finding every Rudy Kurlander he can. Each Rudy (there are 4 Rudy Kurlander) we're introduced to is more interesting then the last. A real crazy moment is when Dean Norris comes in playing one of the Rudy's son. Norris is perfect in his role and the interaction between him and Zev is a one of a few great highlights of this movie. Another is during Zev's travels his dementia keeps taking over and his fight to remember why he's traveling leads to a interesting highlight. In order to do this he reads a letter from Max that gives him a quick refresh of why he is traveling and what happened to his wife. Moments like writing "read the letter" on his wrist gives you a good idea of how bad it is.
 
The movie is good. I was surprised honestly because after a few minutes from when I started it I felt the movie was going way too slow. When the dementia began I thought it was only there to take up time where the writer didn't want to write. Camera movement, staging and lighting added a cheap direct to dvd feel that disappeared quickly as the movie progressed. Everything up to the ending was pretty good. Once the ending came though I must admit how surprised I was. The ending was perfect and it adds one great twist I did not seen coming. Remember is a solid entertaining movie that I was extremely delight to have found. 

Also I would like to note the great Jürgen Prochnow appears. He's pretty awesome.







Copyright © Simplistic Reviews