one word reviews of Movies and TV

Monday, October 22, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Night of the Comet

They sure don't make 'em like they used to make flicks like "Night of the Comet." But man, re-watching this one made me think of all the other films, TV shows, and even video games "Comet" had to have had or influence on, or at least gave a bit of INSPIRATION.

There are a lot of head fakes in this film, and just when you think it's going to be a straight up survival story of two teenage girls trying to fight off mutants effected by a passing comet it turns into a scientific conspiracy. It's wacky, but for some reason there is something so tacky, weird, and genuine about "Comet."

I recommend this to anyone who likes the FOX show "The Last Man on Earth," played "Dead Rising" or if you just like odd like B-films from the 80s with a quirky sense of humor and, hell, even some pretty solidly written female characters.

Sunday, October 21, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween (2018)


After so much build-up, and i assume just my nervousness, apprehension, but unbridled love for the"Halloween" series, I guess the TORCH has been officially passed to a new generation, and it's just something that I'm going to have to face.

That isn't to say that I don't like what David Gordon Greene and Danny McBride have done here, but after watching this series for nearly 25 years of my life, or as long as I can remember renting "Halloween 4" from the video store on a weekly basis, it's odd seeing a modern take on something that I hold very dear. Erasing an entire mythology and basically saying everything you know hasn't happened, I liken it to how many "Star Wars" fans felt after "The Last Jedi."

However, through the mist, I do like the homages to some of the other films, and at least there is a decent explanation and reason how we got from 1978 to 2018, kind of a weak reason, but a reason nonetheless. But boy, there are some plot devices that just don't quite work for me, and aren't as earned for me as they might be for other people. But hey, what else can I expect from a horror remake, right?

Parting shot, not a huge fan of the re-done "Halloween" theme. Too busy, too much production, and it loses the synth-soul that the original had...

Thursday, October 18, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Rob Zombie's Halloween and H2


In order to expedite the process, and since I feel it appropriate to connect these two films together, I'm giving you guys a two-fer today with the EGO project that you might call "Rob Zombie's Halloween and Rob Zombie's Halloween 2" "H2," regardless, call it what you will.

The long and short and Zombie's vision is that it isn't horrible. It's shot expertly, makes you feel real grimy, like you are watching a documentary about Michael Myers and how he become the sister murdering, babysitter slaying enigma we know today, or if Zombie has anything to do with it, no longer an enigma.

If I've said it once, I've said it 100 times; the allure, at least to me, is that there is no reason for Michael Myers or why he kills...he's pure evil. I don't need an entire half of one film telling me how bad of a childhood Mikey had, I don't need it.

Oh, and you'll find this fun. With all the different versions of each film floating around, its a cool game to see what version you like since they could all impact each film and how it's perceived. I thought the Theatrical and TV version of "Halloween 2" was enough, geesh!

Sorry, let me step off my white horse... 

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween: Resurrection


What can be said about "Halloween: Resurrection." This is a horror film firmly trapped and a victim of it's own era, and it honestly feels like the inmates are running the asylum while director Rick Rosenthal is tied up in a closet somewhere.

You would think that four years between "H20" and "Resurrection" something special could have been created, but instead we get the worst Michael Myers mask in the film's history, Busta Rhymes doing kung-fu and delivering and epic SPEECH about who Michael Myers isn't a headline or a news story, but instead a killer shark...yeah, that what we got this time around.

In the very least, "Resurrection" should give you a good laugh by how inane the dialogue is written and delivered by the cast, so I guess you can say this is by far the funniest edition in the series, which really says a lot...oh, but at least Katee Sackhoff is pretty rad.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween H20


To be fair, this was the first time in a long, very long, time I actually sat down and watched "Halloween: H20." And honestly, it's not as bad as "The Curse of Michael Myers" and Dimension Films hedges their bets on a new crop of heartthrobs, WB drama starlets, and oh yeah, this is the first of two films where we get to see the acting talents of hip-hop royalty, namely LL Cool J in this film.

Seeing Jamie Lee Curtis back in the fold is fun and shows that she never forgot what film shot her to stardom, unlike some actors that like to forget that they were in a horror film...*cough*...Kevin*cough*Bacon*cough*

But after some atrocious outings, and this being the 20th anniversary, there was certainly an OBLIGATION to right the ship.

Monday, October 15, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers


"Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers," is TOMFOOLERY at its finest. My favorite idea behind this film is that the theatrical version is consider the incomplete version and the "Producer's Cut" is the "true" version that everyone needs to see to full appreciate this film.

Perhaps "Curse" is really just a film lost in it's own Mid-90s Dimension Films bubble where if you had Kevin Williamson write something it would probably sell and add a rockin' Alt-Rock soundtrack. Oh, and you think the "Halloween" theme was bad in "The Revenge of Michael Myers" this one is just as bad, and last parting shot...this is the film that killed Donald Pleasance, so you're all welcome...

Sunday, October 14, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers


You want some NONSENSE...either watch for the first time, or revisit "Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers." Telepathic links, mute nieces, costume contests, barn sex, metal nets, guys in cowboy boots, hats and wrist tattoos, this film's got it all.

Oh, and the "Halloween" theme for "Revenge" might be just as bad as the disco/techno version from "Halloween 2."

Saturday, October 13, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers


A lot of people will say "Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers" is where the series took a TURN for the worse.

But if you really think about it, "Return" is pretty much a paint-by-numbers remake of 1978's "Halloween." It has a lot of the same tropes, but the bodycount is higher and this is when it's finally established that Michael Myers is a uncontrollable killing machine that can warp around...much like Jason...and has otherworldly strength and power.

Pro-tip: If you have the means, listening to the audio commentaries with the director, Dwight Little, or any other commentary you can find on the Blu-Ray is well worth it.

Friday, October 12, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Copy Cat

#31FilmsofHalloween continues... With Copy Cat! #Copycat is a engaging film that keeps a good balance of intrigue & thrill. Sure, pretty much every aspect of tech appears outdated but overall the story holds up with Sigourney Weaver & Holly Hunter leading the way. Man, I really miss when studios would release films like this.

Thursday, October 11, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween 3: Season of the Witch


Tonight it's time to tell you all how UNDERVALUED "Halloween 3: Season of the Witch" is and will always be.

"Halloween 3" is the classic case of this is why we can't have nice things. Newsflash folks; "Halloween" was never supposed to just be Michael Myers. We were supposed to get anthology films about the fear we all fell during the Halloween season, but thanks to characters like Jason Voorhees and Freddy Krueger, who all begin pumping out sequels on a yearly basis, the first "Halloween" film became a victim of it's own success and failed miserably.

Sure, the story is insane and involved Stonehenge and Halloween masks that kill kids when they hear a TV jingle and an evil cabal of old white men, but looking at this film now, it's just crazy enough to work and should have been a bigger success when it was released.

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween 2 (1981)


My retrospective continues with 1981's "Halloween 2."

Man, a lot changed in three years. Whereas "Halloween" was almost more of a thriller that happened to feature a maniac stalking and killing teens, "Halloween 2" fully embraced being a slasher film, especially after the success of "Friday the 13th" which took the original "Halloween" formula, upped the gore, sexy, and body count.

I also think your enjoyment of "Halloween 2" will depend on what VERSION you watch. If I could recommend the TV VERSION, yes, the TV VERSION, you'll be doing yourself a favor.

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Halloween (1978)

In the lead-up to 2018's "Halloween," I'm kicking off my retrospective tonight. From the 1978 version all the way to 2009's "H2," or Rob Zombie's "Halloween 2," or whatever you might want to call it.

I feel like every year I either post a review about the original "Halloween," or just jabber on about it on the podcast. Maybe it's because, to me, it's one of the most important horror films I've ever seen.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of John Carpenter's "Halloween," and needless to say, this film has been TESTED, and it still holds up. I was able to enjoy it in a theater this year, on an original 35mm print, in it's native format, and enjoyed it just as much as the first time I saw it. Surrounded by a couple of newbies, and my wife, it was a different experience to see something that influential in a different prism.

But good God, I never realized how many times Linda (PJ Soles) says "totally" in this flick. I mean, I always knew she said it, but man, it's TOTALLY too many time....totally...

Monday, October 8, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Haunters: The Art of the Scare


Why do people like being scared, and why do people like to do the scaring? Is it a power trip? Is it a roleplaying element? Is it putting yourself in a situation where you feel like you are a minute away from dying but being able to do it in a controlled environment? "Haunters: The Art of the Scare," dives in the SUBCULTURE of people scaring and those wanting to be scared.

From homemade haunts, big budget productions and even into the SUBCULTURE that pushes people to their absolute breaking point in what can be called "legalized" kidnapping and torture with attractions like McKamey Manor, "Haunters" paints an interesting picture about our fascination with being scared and why we seek it out.

Sunday, October 7, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Murder Party


I know everyone is going crazy over Jeremy Saulnier's latest "Hold the Dark" (which I'll get around to later this month) but in order to get to that point in time one has to remember where he's come from, and that genesis starts with "Murder Party," which for my money might be one of my favorite directorial debuts in quite some time. It's CONFIDENT filmmaking, and while many will dismiss it in favor of "Blue Ruin" or "Green Room" or just chalk it up as messy, this film is tons of fun and has some shoehorned in social commentary on the New York art scene and what not.

It's funny, weird, full of in-jokes, and showcases that even though Saulnier might be the indie circuit's new savior, he also knows how to throw a party...of the most murderous variety.

Saturday, October 6, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Terrifier

It's difficult these days to create a horror icon. The last one that really comes to mind for me is Jigsaw from the "Saw" franchise, and some people might argue Annabelle and all that "Conjuring" crap, but Annabelle ain't Chucky, so that's settled law. Clowns came back in vogue with the remake of "IT" last year, and while Pennywise is a creep, Art the Clown is something else.

Without uttering a single word, Art's antics will give you quite the SHUDDER. "Terrifier" while not great, packs in enough blood, gore, and some really great practical effects in this grimy little slasher flick spun off from "All Hallows Eve." The film wraps up a nice little twist from the beginning of the film and of course opens the possible for Art's return, but do we really need a "Re-Terrifier?" Meh...

Friday, October 5, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: One Dark Night





One Dark Night is one letdown of a film. I was looking forward to a cast of Meg Tilly, Elizabeth Daily & Adam West. I had high hopes. The premise is great but the film takes you right to the end to bring out the goods. A missed opportunity that could be improved & released today.

Thursday, October 4, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Crash


Crash is unlike anything you've seen before. A movie about people with fetishism for car crashes is as original as you can get. This isn't a film for everyone, but its intriguing, dark and sexual on a few different fronts. Casting is fantastic in this Cronenberg directed film.

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Hereditary


Hereditary isn’t a perfect film. There are slow paced moments that drag on way to long and cheap tricks used to scare you. But from beginning to the end I was entertained more then I thought I would be going into it. Highlight is the cast with a great audio design and mix.  

Tuesday, October 2, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Hell Fest (2018)


Judging "Hell Fest" at its core, it's just one of those TYPICAL, mediocre, generic horror films that will be forgotten about as quickly as it was watched. Copy and paste millennial characters that you want to see die, well except Bex Taylor-Klaus, who I actually think plays her part with some heart and fun, but despite being the season for horror flicks, this is a letdown.

If you take "The Funhouse," "Dark Ride," and your experiences at Halloween Horror Nights, that's "Hell Fest" in a nutshell, and if you've ever read the Batman story, "Cacophony" you might appreciate the ending, but overall it will divide audiences by and large.

And hey, there are far worse films at the bottom of the Netflix, Amazon, Hulu, and Shudder heap than this addition to the horror lexicon, so strap on your cat ears, take the train cart to the Deadlands and go on a Hell Ride...if you dare.

Monday, October 1, 2018

31 Films of Halloween: Camp Death III in 2D


We get our share of e-mails asking to watch films, and for the most part, we take a little time to check them out and give our honest, Simplistic Reviews, opinion.

The latest is "Camp Death III in 2D" from our friends North of the Border in the mythical land of Canada. The easy way to explain the BONKERS slasher film lampoon is that if you went to Vancouver, got really baked, watched about 24 hours of Troma flicks, washed that down with some "Trailer Park Boys" smoked another bowl, marathoned "Meatballs," all of the "Friday the 13th" flicks, did a little acid, watched "Sleepaway Camp I and II" maybe took a nap, and get awoken suddenly by some Frank Zappa music, and you might be ready for "Camp Death III in 2D."

Click HERE for more information on "Camp Death III in 2D!

Monday, September 17, 2018

A Simplistic Review: The Predator (2018)


"The Predator" is probably going down as the biggest and dumbest film of 2018. But does that mean it's bad? Well....yes and no.

As part of the "Predator" mythos it works because you see things from the first two films including the spawn of Keyes as Gary Busey...and, uh, I guess thats about it.

The plot is inconsistent, the characters are bat-sh*t crazy, almost too over the top. it just makes for an extremely OFF-KILTER experience that bores you one minute and engages you the next.

I will say, there is a very funny, perhaps unintentional, but I'm sure intentional joke that involves Trevante Rhodes' character's name. Since I have a juvenile sense of humor I found it hilarious but it might go over a few people's heads if it has to do what I think it has to do with...I'll just leave that right here.

Saturday, September 15, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves


I just came to the realization that for a long time I've been getting Martin Campbell and Kevin Reynolds confused for a long time. They seem to travel in similar circles and have the same sordid film career that features maybe 1-2 good ones, and a lot of stinkers. "Robin Hood" Prince of Thieves" has always been one of my guilty pleasures. It's over the top, features at least three of the HAMMIEST performances you'll get out of early 90s film, the best of the bunch being Alan Rickman as the villainous Sheriff of Nottingham.

Also, pro-tip for you cinephiles out there, the Extended Cut or the Director's Cut, or the Sherwood Forest Cut, or whatever you want to call it, is only necessary is you want to see how much a creep the witch is.

Monday, September 10, 2018

(Ep. 110): The Simplistic Reviews Podcast: September 2018


The Simplistic Reviews Podcast is back from our August break and raring to go. And since we thought the show could use more of a fangirl touch, we got the biggest and best fangirl of them all, Jeanette Ward from The Mundane Adventures Of A Fangirl. And as gracious hosts, we immediately put Ms. Ward in the hot seat during another edition of Questions From The Crowd. The gang also go against their better nature while playing Say Anything. Shane Black, Cardi B Nicki Minaj Beef, and midichlorians...all things discussed on the latest episode of the Simplistic Reviews Podcast.

NOTES
Ray Liotta Commercial
Nicki Minaj & Cardi B Fight
Glass Noodles
Blockbuster Video 

MUSIC
60's Blues Rock Kinda Thing By Aaron Tosti
Gold Medal By Sounds Like Sander
Fast Times Club By Idols

A Simplistic Review: Heathers


The 80s and early 90s were an odd time. It seemed like you could get away with doing and saying anything despite the fact we were living in the middle of "Say No to Drugs" and a total PC-culture ruled by Reganomics, the fear of AIDS, and it just being an all around scary place to live.

And yes, they want to revive "Heathers" on TV, but could you honestly see another film like this being made for a mainstream audience anymore? School shootings, Trump-America, celebrity suicides, bullying, "Heathers" is all the TABOO one would ever need in their life. Shoot, sounds like the right time to bring it back...

A Simplistic Review: Back to School


Thanks to Netflix, me cutting the cord, and various other streaming services, I've had some time to catch up on a plethora of screwball comedies from the late 70s and into the 80s. And I've come to a conclusion; most of them aren't very good, or I should rephrase that; they have all AGED fairly poorly.

The best way to look at most of these films is through a bubble, or just a moment in time where anything goes. From "Animal House" and it's shenanigans, which depending on who you talk to I'm sure offends people now, to "Trading Places" which has Dan Akyroyd in blackface playing a Jamaican, it makes you stare in awe; like man, these guys gave no f*cks.

This brings me to "Back to School" which is innocent compared to a lot of other fare, but still features a pretty creepy Rodney Dangerfield. However, it's Rodney Dangerfield, so we kind of forgive him for what he does.

"School" is fine, but watching it again, the only thing I really care about is watching Oingo Boingo and Danny Elfman in his weird wifebeater and who Sarah Silverman copied that look on the "Mongolian Beef" episode of "The Sarah Silverman Show." Good times.

Tuesday, September 4, 2018

(Ep. 109): Killing American Style - Movie Commentary: September 2018


Killing American style
1990 ‧ Thriller/Action ‧ 1h 30m

Well it's not Samurai Cop...

Welcome back to the Simplistic Reviews Movie Commentary! Today we pop in another Amir Shervan film, Killing American Style. It's the 80's and of course Amir will recycle from his masterpiece Samurai Cop; location, music and beefy men with long beautiful hair.  The terrible acting mix with cheesy fight scene is the best part along with its nonexistent script. Killing American Style is no Samurai Cop. It's not as funny nor crazy but still a entertaining film except for one thing - rape.

The amount of creepiness is beyond anything we have seen before. There really isn't a need for rape in a movie, especially when the story line doesn't call for it. A simple walk into the room with the door closing gets it point across, what we get here is out of control and unnecessary. Killing American Style is a fun Sunday film to drink and laugh at, just look at that title. But when your looking for another Samurai Cop don't look at Killing American Style, it's in a league of its own.
                       






Monday, August 27, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Adventureland


Maybe I've had a DELAYED reaction, but I actually really like "Adventureland." Sadly, when it was released it was sold as a screwball comedy in the vein of "Superbad" and every other Judd Apatow inspired comedy that had been released prior.

It'ss a coming-of-age flick, which I'm a sucker for, with some honest acting, and despite what people might say about Kristen Stewart and her sullen, angsty acting style, she works extremely well here, and I know people will always give her shit for her years in the "Twilight" films, but she's honestly perfect in her role here. If you're a "Freaks and Geeks" fan, "Adventureland" is the perfect companion piece. Oh yeah, music in the 80s will live forever in my heart and I can listen to Shannon's "Let the Music Play" on repeat....come at me.

Friday, August 24, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Hostiles


"Hostiles" should be one of those films that ends up on everyone's 'End of the Year Top Ten List' thing they like to do; it has a great cast, some awe-inspiring cinematography, timely socio-political commentary, and everything else that will get you on a list.

Low and behold, aside from an excellent performance by Christopher Bale, "Hostiles" is just kind of there and after a strong opening, it just kind of MEANDERS into it's 3rd act and ends with a typical 'happy' ending.

At the end of the day, I really like Scott Cooper as a director, he's a talent dude, but despite some memorable moments, his latest film is just kind of there.

Monday, August 20, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Won't You Be My Neighbor?


Of course this me is being cheeky, but there is a scene in this other wise poignant documentary where Fred Rogers essentially robs a Senator of 22 Million dollars after he tells him a story about the power of his show and PBS. I mean literally "Runs the Jewels" and keeps PBS alive while talking to an elected official like a child. If that's not Gangster, I don't know what is.

While I can't call myself a huge Mr. Roger's Neighborhood fan, the guy seemed liked a class act despite what appeared to be some serious inner anguish. 2018 doesn't deserve to have someone like Fred Rogers around, we don't deserve him, and "Won't You Be My Neighbor?" proves that being Christ-like and Christian and two totally different things.

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

A Not So Simplistic Review: Blackkklansman


The simple answer; yes, "Blackkklanssman" is very very good. The more complicated thing about Spike Lee's latest is why in 2018, over 160 years after emancipation and over 75 years after World War II and The Holocaust, are we still as fractured as ever? Why are we dooming to repeat the same mistakes generation after generation and why are we choosing to elect politicians on the confidence of making things great again and essentially saying, "If It Ain't White, It Ain't Right." Why are we still at this point in America, or should I say, why did we try and decide to make some progress and immediately decide to go back to pre-Civil Rights America? I have no clue...

Probably his best outing since "Inside Man" Lee, with a little help from Jordan Peele, has crafted a film that is filled with humor, horror, tension, and necessary evil. No punches are pulled in "Blackkklansman" and while you'll be laughing one minute, you'll be scratching your head and on the verge of tears, filled with dread at the thought that only a year ago we witnessed the horror of Charlottesville, and I'm not just talking about white guys with bad haircuts equipped with tiki torches spouting off racist epitaphs, but just how little we've learned and how far we've sunk as a society. I'm white and Jewish, and sad about where we are right now. This is something we all have to FACE.

"Blackkklansman" is not only a film to watch, but also experience for expressing the current zeitgeist we are all going through. From "Do the Right Thing" to now, Spike Lee has created something timely, important, and horrific. FACE it, you need to watch this.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Eraser


For a long time, Arnold Schwartzenegger was pretty much untouchable. His films printed money. "The Terminator," "Predator," "Terminator 2," the guy was teflon. But in came the mid-90s and suddenly there was this downfall...and of course his turn as the Governator of California.

"Eraser" isn't a bad film, it's actually quite fun, the the shark jumping, or should I say gator jumping that takes place in this one, is a little over the top. But yeah, you also get Vanessa Williams, who is decent enough, and possibly the hammiest performance of James Caan's career. It's like it Sonny Corleone joined the CIA and was taking poppers at the same time. Just no fist-biting this time kids...

Sunday, August 12, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Better Luck Tomorrow


Before all the "Fast and the Furious" sequels, Justin Lin was making films like "Better Luck Tomorrow." It's a pretty paint-by-numbers flick, but there is something that draws me in. Before MTV went full in on "Teen Mom" and "Jersey Shore" they used to be involved in some great films like "Election" and this film.

"Luck" explores the "plight" of six Asian-American overachievers bored with their lives who either decide to star in porn or start committing up petty crimes, and eventually murder. There are some interesting socio-political ideas here when it comes to achievement and how Asian-Americans are perceived by their peers, and it's expertly shot. It's one of those lost gems that really gets lost in time.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Accepted


So in re-watching "Accepted" I finally realized why a kind of like it; it's a college version of "Camp Nowhere" which I've always enjoyed, in the way that I still enjoy "The Sandlot" and any other campy and disposable coming-of-age film.

But I also find the overuse and constant smarm of Johan Hill and Justin Long in addition to the insanity and rantings of Lewis Black grating and exhausting, but overall this is an acceptable comedy that has a likable band of misfits and underdogs.

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Uncle Sam


So you may have notice we did a movie commentary on Uncle Sam and if you didn’t well I guess shameless plug for us. But honestly you can’t get more American then this film. What other country can you finance a film about it’s patriotic symbol and have him murder people on that country’s birthday. Uncle Sam is a crappy film but that’s okay. It’s the perfect entertainment to enjoy with the freedoms we get when some in other parts of the world don’t. Uncle Sam a stupid slasher film that fills the appetite.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation


I consider the first three "Mission Impossible" standalone flicks and the best way to enjoy "Ghost Protocol" and "Rogue Nation" is watching back-to-back and seeing them as one long film, similar to how a lot of people think about "Casino Royale" and "Quantum of Solace."

There is a certain stride "Rogue Nation" hits where we finally get a villain to watch, and seeing the entire gang back together is fun with a bigger role for Simon Pegg who steals most of the show...but still doesn't get to wear a mask...

Monday, July 30, 2018

(Ep. 108): Uncle Sam - Movie Commentary: July 2018

Uncle Sam

R 1996 ‧ Slasher/Horror ‧ 1h 30m
A Gulf War veteran rises from the dead to wreak vengeance upon unpatriotic residents of his hometown.
Initial release: 1996
Director: William Lustig
Release date: 1996 (Greece)
Budget: 2 million USD
Screenplay: Larry Cohen

Because you asked for it, here it is... Uncle Sam! 

The classic blockbuster video rental slasher is a great way to celebrate America's birthday! Nothing like some patriotic killing to make us American hard. Okay children grab that flag and those sparklers, bite into your U.S. grade hamburgers and pop in Uncle Sam...This is Simplistic Reviews Movie Commentary!


Sunday, July 29, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol



I guess to get to the good stuff...you have to go by the numbers and set a baseline. Having just seen "Ghost Protocol" for the first time, I understand the problem it had when it came out. It really only works as a companion to the following film, "Rogue Nation" and it had to follow up the best in the series, for my money "M:I III." This one reminds me too much of the 1996 original and it comes off feeling procedural and flat

Saturday, July 28, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Same director...same cast...same crazy sh*t, but why didn't people like this "Kingsman" as much as the last one? Snobs, and who knows...Sure. would I say this one takes a step back from it's predecessor...maybe, but it's not by much. Mark Strong is so good btw...

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

24: Season Two

When you follow a historic season things seem like they would of been tough. But for 24: Season Two everything came off way too easy and instead the writers wrote an even better season.

For fans of 24, Season 2 will always be the reason George Mason will never leave our minds. Thanks Mason!

The second season is set 18 months after season one. The season's main plot follows the work of now-U.S. President David Palmer and agent Jack Bauer to stop terrorists from detonating a nuclear bomb in Los Angeles. Introduced into the situation is Kate Warner, a woman who ends up getting vital information related to CTU's mission.

Tuesday, July 24, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Back to the Future III


For all the confusion you might run into with the "Back to the Future" series with it's time travel problems and breaks in scientific logic, you have to admit that "BttF III" is tons of fun and the easiest to follow.

Sure, it has it's flaws of weaving in a weird love story for Doc Brown, but anything in the Wild West is fun and hits a Bullseye despite what Bob Gale might say.

Monday, July 23, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Hannibal

One day, we'll look back at the fact that "Hannibal" is actually very very good despite what book snobs might consider an inferior ending, but do most people know how the book actually ended, and could you believe the uproar! Oh, and btw, Gary Oldman...is well...great...

I'll even go as far as saying I enjoy this more than "The Silence of the Lambs" but again, the more gore, the better, and "Hannibal" has crimson stuff to spare.

Sunday, July 22, 2018

24: Season One



Premiering November 6, 2001 - 24 aired it's first episode marking the beginning of one of the greatest shows to ever appear on TV. Season one is simply "Historic".

Counterterrorism agent Jack Bauer fights the bad guys of the world, a day at a time. With each week's episode unfolding in real time, "24" covers a single day in the life of Bauer each season. Jack deals with assassination attempts, nuclear attacks, bioterrorism, torture, traitors, sleeper cells, other bad guys and the alarming tendency for his romances to end badly -- very badly.

Copyright © Simplistic Reviews