one word reviews of Movies and TV

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

A Not So Simplistic Review: Blackkklansman


The simple answer; yes, "Blackkklanssman" is very very good. The more complicated thing about Spike Lee's latest is why in 2018, over 160 years after emancipation and over 75 years after World War II and The Holocaust, are we still as fractured as ever? Why are we dooming to repeat the same mistakes generation after generation and why are we choosing to elect politicians on the confidence of making things great again and essentially saying, "If It Ain't White, It Ain't Right." Why are we still at this point in America, or should I say, why did we try and decide to make some progress and immediately decide to go back to pre-Civil Rights America? I have no clue...

Probably his best outing since "Inside Man" Lee, with a little help from Jordan Peele, has crafted a film that is filled with humor, horror, tension, and necessary evil. No punches are pulled in "Blackkklansman" and while you'll be laughing one minute, you'll be scratching your head and on the verge of tears, filled with dread at the thought that only a year ago we witnessed the horror of Charlottesville, and I'm not just talking about white guys with bad haircuts equipped with tiki torches spouting off racist epitaphs, but just how little we've learned and how far we've sunk as a society. I'm white and Jewish, and sad about where we are right now. This is something we all have to FACE.

"Blackkklansman" is not only a film to watch, but also experience for expressing the current zeitgeist we are all going through. From "Do the Right Thing" to now, Spike Lee has created something timely, important, and horrific. FACE it, you need to watch this.

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Eraser


For a long time, Arnold Schwartzenegger was pretty much untouchable. His films printed money. "The Terminator," "Predator," "Terminator 2," the guy was teflon. But in came the mid-90s and suddenly there was this downfall...and of course his turn as the Governator of California.

"Eraser" isn't a bad film, it's actually quite fun, the the shark jumping, or should I say gator jumping that takes place in this one, is a little over the top. But yeah, you also get Vanessa Williams, who is decent enough, and possibly the hammiest performance of James Caan's career. It's like it Sonny Corleone joined the CIA and was taking poppers at the same time. Just no fist-biting this time kids...

Sunday, August 12, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Better Luck Tomorrow


Before all the "Fast and the Furious" sequels, Justin Lin was making films like "Better Luck Tomorrow." It's a pretty paint-by-numbers flick, but there is something that draws me in. Before MTV went full in on "Teen Mom" and "Jersey Shore" they used to be involved in some great films like "Election" and this film.

"Luck" explores the "plight" of six Asian-American overachievers bored with their lives who either decide to star in porn or start committing up petty crimes, and eventually murder. There are some interesting socio-political ideas here when it comes to achievement and how Asian-Americans are perceived by their peers, and it's expertly shot. It's one of those lost gems that really gets lost in time.

Thursday, August 9, 2018

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Accepted


So in re-watching "Accepted" I finally realized why a kind of like it; it's a college version of "Camp Nowhere" which I've always enjoyed, in the way that I still enjoy "The Sandlot" and any other campy and disposable coming-of-age film.

But I also find the overuse and constant smarm of Johan Hill and Justin Long in addition to the insanity and rantings of Lewis Black grating and exhausting, but overall this is an acceptable comedy that has a likable band of misfits and underdogs.

Thursday, August 2, 2018

Uncle Sam


So you may have notice we did a movie commentary on Uncle Sam and if you didn’t well I guess shameless plug for us. But honestly you can’t get more American then this film. What other country can you finance a film about it’s patriotic symbol and have him murder people on that country’s birthday. Uncle Sam is a crappy film but that’s okay. It’s the perfect entertainment to enjoy with the freedoms we get when some in other parts of the world don’t. Uncle Sam a stupid slasher film that fills the appetite.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation


I consider the first three "Mission Impossible" standalone flicks and the best way to enjoy "Ghost Protocol" and "Rogue Nation" is watching back-to-back and seeing them as one long film, similar to how a lot of people think about "Casino Royale" and "Quantum of Solace."

There is a certain stride "Rogue Nation" hits where we finally get a villain to watch, and seeing the entire gang back together is fun with a bigger role for Simon Pegg who steals most of the show...but still doesn't get to wear a mask...

Monday, July 30, 2018

(Ep. 108): Uncle Sam - Movie Commentary: July 2018

Uncle Sam

R 1996 ‧ Slasher/Horror ‧ 1h 30m
A Gulf War veteran rises from the dead to wreak vengeance upon unpatriotic residents of his hometown.
Initial release: 1996
Director: William Lustig
Release date: 1996 (Greece)
Budget: 2 million USD
Screenplay: Larry Cohen

Because you asked for it, here it is... Uncle Sam! 

The classic blockbuster video rental slasher is a great way to celebrate America's birthday! Nothing like some patriotic killing to make us American hard. Okay children grab that flag and those sparklers, bite into your U.S. grade hamburgers and pop in Uncle Sam...This is Simplistic Reviews Movie Commentary!


Sunday, July 29, 2018

A Simplistic Review: Mission Impossible: Ghost Protocol



I guess to get to the good stuff...you have to go by the numbers and set a baseline. Having just seen "Ghost Protocol" for the first time, I understand the problem it had when it came out. It really only works as a companion to the following film, "Rogue Nation" and it had to follow up the best in the series, for my money "M:I III." This one reminds me too much of the 1996 original and it comes off feeling procedural and flat

Copyright © Simplistic Reviews